background image
DigiCULT
.
Info
4
per le Attivitą Culturali (Ministry for
Cultural Heritage) provided part of the
funding for the project.
E
-Learning occupies an increasingly
central place in discussions about
the Internet and access to the cul-
tural heritage materials. Previous issues
have examined aspects of the topic and this
issue carries three further articles. In the
first of these the team from the Elena proj-
ect introduce the technologies they are
developing to create personalised managed
smart spaces for learning. These spaces can
be adjusted to profiles of individual learn-
ers and their environment. In a second
article, colleagues from the GIUNTI
Interactive Labs, a learning content man-
agement technology developer and vendor,
describe their work with RFID tags to
create ambient learning and training con-
texts. Through their ASTRAL Pilot the
GIUNTI Interactive team is investigating
the application of the JADE methodology
(Justification, based on Argument, arising
out of Discussion, based on Evidence) in
conjunction with intuitive interfaces to the
web and smart tags within cultural heritage
environments. In a further application of
portable technologies the MOBIlearn
Project sketches the Open Mobile
Application Framework (OMAF), a serv-
ice-based software architecture, they have
been developing to support their investiga-
tions of the use of mobile technologies in
different learning contexts.
D
igiCULT continues to extend
its network of regional corre-
spondents. Their work is
increasingly central to our activities as not
only do they contribute quarterly reviews
of activities in their countries, but they
point the DigiCULT team to topics and
authors for feature articles. Readers will
find much in these reports of value as they
produce a picture of the extent to which
ICT continues to transform management,
study, interpretation, presentation, and use
and enjoyment of the cultural and scientif-
ic heritage across Europe.
T
here are a few European coun-
tries that do not yet have a
national correspondent and those
interested should contact the
DigiCULT.Info Content Editor, Daisy
Abbott at D.Abbott@hatii.arts.gla.ac.uk.
To our current correspondents the Editors
wish to extend our warm thanks for all
your efforts that have helped to make
DigiCULT.Info so rich in content.
Seamus Ross & John Pereira
1 April 2004
C
O N TAC T T H E
P
E O P L E
B
E H I N D
DigiCULT F
O R U M
Salzburg Research
Forschungsgesellschaft m.b.H
DigiCULT Project Manager
John Pereira, john.pereira@salzburgrsearch.at
DigiCULT Thematic Issue Scientific Editor
Guntram Geser, guntram.geser@salzburgresearch.at
DigiCULT Network Co-ordinator
Birgit Retsch, birgit.retsch@salzburgresearch.at
HATII ­ Humanities Advanced Technology and
Information Institute
Director, HATII & ERPANET
Seamus Ross, s.ross@hatii.arts.gla.ac.uk
DigiCULT Forum Technology Assessor
Martin Donnelly, m.donnelly@hatii.arts.gla.ac.uk
DigiCULT.Info Content & Managing Editor
Daisy Abbott, d.abbott@hatii.arts.gla.ac.uk
DigiCULT Web Developer
Brian Aitken, b.aitken@hatii.arts.gla.ac.uk
Copyright Notice:
Introduction © HATII (UofGlasgow), Compilation © HATII (UofGlasgow),
Images and other media © as noted at image or media access point, Layout and
design © Salzburg Research, Individual Articles © named authors or their institu-
tions. This issue may be freely re-distributed provided there is no charge for it and
that it is redistributed in full and without alternation.