background image
DigiCULT
.
Info
4
C
ONTACT
THE
P
EOPLE
B
EHIND
DigiCULT F
ORUM
Salzburg Research
Forschungsgesellschaft m.b.H
DigiCULT Project Manager
John Pereira, john.pereira@salzburgrsearch.at
DigiCULT Thematic Issue Scientific Editor
Guntram Geser, guntram.geser@salzburgresearch.at
DigiCULT Network Co-ordinator
Birgit Retsch, birgit.retsch@salzburgresearch.at
HATII ­ Humanities Advanced Technology and
Information Institute
Director, HATII & ERPANET
Seamus Ross, s.ross@hatii.arts.gla.ac.uk
DigiCULT Forum Technology Assessor
Martin Donnelly, m.donnelly@hatii.arts.gla.ac.uk
DigiCULT.Info Content & Managing Editor
Daisy Abbott, d.abbott@hatii.arts.gla.ac.uk
DigiCULT Web Developer
Brian Aitken, b.aitken@hatii.arts.gla.ac.uk
Copyright Notice:
Introduction © HATII (UofGlasgow), Compilation © HATII (UofGlasgow),
Images and other media © as noted at image or media access point, Layout and
design © Salzburg Research, Individual Articles © named authors or their institu-
tions. This issue may be freely re-distributed provided there is no charge for it and
that it is redistributed in full and without alternation.
needed. The key word here is experience
prototyping, and cultural hotspots such as
historic city centres, museums, science cen-
tres or heritage sites should be strongly
involved in this.
I
n March 2004 the new EPOCH
network started its activities. Tijl
Vereenooghe provides us with a unique
look into this new initiative and the way
forward in meeting their overall objective
"...to bring together the combined exper-
tise and resources of technologists, herit-
age administrators, heritage professionals
and communication experts concerned
with the effective and sustainable applica-
tion of digital technology to archaeological
research and cultural heritage presentation
at museums, monuments and historic sites."
E
va Müller from the Uppsala University,
reports on the DiVA publishing sys-
tem which has been in full operation since
January 2003 and is used by a number of
universities in Nordic countries. She notes
that the "DiVA system has been designed
to follow workflow models that are practi-
cal for both authors and production staff.
This concept helps to achieve efficien-
cy and reduce costs, as well as benefit-
ing authors. The efficiency that we have
achieved and the recognition we have
received from authors and research com-
munities demonstrate how powerful tech-
nology can be when it is integrated with
user-friendly and (semi)automated work-
flows".
A
ndreas Strasser from Salzburg
Research presents the Austrian
Digital Heritage Initiative which with its
Web site is the national reference point on
Austrian digitisation policies and projects.
Launched in November 2003, the Digital
Heritage initiative is an ongoing activity
carried out by Salzburg Research on behalf
of the Federal Ministry for Education,
Science and Culture.
N
ews from DigiCULT's Regional
Correspondents in this issue includes
Bulgaria, Greece, Ireland, Lithuania, The
Netherlands, Poland, and Turkey. We would
like to take this opportunity to thank our
network of correspondents for their valu-
able work in ensuring that the news and
knowledge of the sector reaches a wider
audience.
Seamus Ross & John Pereira
Editors, DigiCULT.Info